First State Firearms and Accessories

178 S. DuPont Hwy, New Castle, Delaware, 19720

phone Call
Now

FIRST STATE FIREARMS

To purchase a firearm, you must:
present a valid driver's license or state issued Photo I.D.
pass the Federal background check.
be of legal age to purchase the firearm.

Forms of identification:
must contain correct/current home address.
can not be expired.

Minimum age for purchases:

Firearms:
Long guns:  18 years of age
Handguns:  21 years of age
Pistol grip and other firearms:  21 years of age
Lower Receivers:  21 years of age​

Ammunition:
Long gun ammunition:  18 years of age
Handgun ammunition:  21 years of age

Background Check:
In order to purchase a firearm, you must complete a Federal background check, aka Form 4473.  This form will be completed once you have selected a firearm, and are ready to make the purchase. Must be filled out in store.
We will receive one of three responses:  
Proceed: You can purchase the firearm that day.
Denied:    You may not purchase the firearm, however, we can provide you with documentation to submit an appeal.
Delayed:  We cannot transfer the firearm to you until we receive a "Proceed" from NICS.  However, according to Delaware law, once 25 days have passed, without confirmation from NICS, we can then transfer the firearm.

If you are Delayed, or Denied you will be charged a $25 document fee to store the records for 20 years per the ATF. Once you get a proceed, the fee will be credited toward the purchase.

If you have been Denied and want to file an appeal, go to the NICS Appeals web site.  You will need your NTN number -- we can provide this to you.

If you are Delayed, we require a 25% deposit to hold the firearm. 

Restocking Fees:
A 10% re-stocking fee applies if you cancel a layaway (10% of the item price) or do not pick-up the firearm within 30 days. Layaway can be extended to a maximum of 60 days only if the item is more than 75% paid for in the first 30 days.

The re-stocking fee will not be applied towards the purchase of a different item.


Transfer of Firearms:

Person to Person Transfer:  A $30 per firearm fee is required to perform a background check (regardless of the outcome).  Both parties must be present to perform the transfer.  If the purchaser is delayed, the owner of the firearm will keep possession of the firearm.  Once the intended purchaser has received a "proceed" status, both parties must return to the store (at the same time) to complete the transfer.

Dealer to Dealer Transfer:  If we are receiving a firearm, the fee is $30 plus a $30 document fee per used firearm or $30 plus $50 document fee per new firearm. If we are shipping the item, the fee is $50 for one gun plus shipping fees (plus insurance). Add $25 for each additional gun. Plus shipping fees.

Handguns must be shipped Over night
Long guns can be shipped Ground
We ship Monday thru Wednesday.
Multiple firearms going to the same FFL holder:  $25 for each additional firearm

If you have a firearm transferred to us and you are Denied:
When a firearm is transferred to our store, the buyer is responsible for payment of all fees.  If the transfer cannot be completed (for any reason), the buyer is still responsible to pay the transfer application fee of $30 and a $50 document fee. (New and Used firearms)
It is your responsibility to let us know how you would like to handle the firearm.  

Your options:
Send it back to where you purchased it (handling/shipping fees will apply).  You must contact the seller to discuss their return policy.
Put it on consignment at our store
Ask if we are interested in purchasing the firearm from you
We will not transfer the gun to a friend/relative, as that would be considered a Straw Purchase.
If you do not make arrangements within 30 days of the denial date, we will place the firearm for sale.


Military, Law Enforcement and First Responder Discount

As an expression of our gratitude, we offer a 3% discount on purchases* made in our store to the following:
        All Active and Retired:
             Military, National Guard and Reserve Personnel
             Law Enforcement Officers, Fire Fighters, Paramedics and EMTs

To receive the discount, please present the appropriate identification/paperwork when you check out at the register.

The discount is:
Is for use on NEW (non sale or discounted) hand guns and accessory items (in stock in store). Not valid on special orders or long guns, not valid on bulk ammo.
Can not be used on “Blue Label Items”
For personal use only.
Not valid on the purchase of Consignment firearms, Gift Cards, special orders, or with other promotions/sales.

Due to the costs of doing business, we are only able to offer the 3% discount on purchases made by CASH, DEBIT or Gift cards

BLUE Label sales are strictly cash only


Installation of Scope:
Free if the firearm and scope are purchased at our store.
$45 minimum charge if the firearm or scope were not purchased at our store.


Special Orders:
A 50% deposit is required when placing a special order for a firearm.
No refunds on special orders.

Layaways:
Firearms may be put on layaway for 30 days with the minimum required 25% deposit.
Layaway can be extended to a maximum of 60 days only if the item is more than 75% paid for in the first 30 days.
Cancelled layaways are subject to 10% restocking fee (10% of the items price)

Returns:
Returns are subject to a 10% restocking fee (10% of the items price)​

Items Not Returnable:
Firearms
Leather Products
Sale and Clearance items are not returnable


Returned Check Fee: 
A $50 fee (plus all legal fees) will be incurred when a bank returns a check to us due to non-payment.


Requests for Copies:
Receipt and serial number requests incur a $35 processing fee, payable in advance.


Repairs/Jams:
Firearms returned for "jamming" or "feeding" problem caused by:
Improperly cleaning and oiling prior to shooting
Ammunition induced malfunction
Improperly holding the firearm
Magazine related malfunctions
Are subject to a minimum fee of $45 (plus the cost of ammunition) for the test firing of a firearm.

Consignment/Used Firearms:
Used firearms may be purchased, traded, or taken on consignment at the discretion of the manager.  We charge a consignment fee of $50 or 23% whichever is higher (minimum charge:  $50 per item). Discounts may be applied to larger consignment collections.

ALL Pre-Owned, Used, Military and Consignment firearms are sold "As Is", and are not returnable.

If you would like to sell your guns with us, please stop in today to discuss your options.

 

dealer-image
Delaware's Elite Gun Shop

First State Firearms and Accessories

OUR ADDRESS

178 S. DuPont Hwy, New Castle, Delaware, 19720
location

View Map

hours

Monday - Tuesday | 10:00 AM - 06:00 PM

Wednesday | 10:00 AM - 07:00 PM

Thursday - Saturday | 10:00 AM - 06:00 PM

Sunday | Closed

  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • Amex
  • Discover